This Page

has moved to a new address:

http://www.barbareeduke.com

Sorry for the inconvenience…

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service

Monday, August 16, 2010

Using Web GIS in the Classroom

NCGE Live Webinar Series 
Topic: Using Web GIS in the Classroom. 


Presenter: Joseph Kerski, ESRI, Geographer and Education Manager 


Date: Tuesday 31 August 2010 


Time: 4PM Eastern, 3PM Central, 2PM Mountain, 1PM Pacific, 12PM Alaska, 10AM Hawaii 


Cost: Free for Members, $20 for Non-Members 


Description: Today's Web-based Geographic Information Systems have become powerful tools to enable students to think spatially while investigating real topics in real places.  All that is needed to interact with these tools is an ordinary web browser.  However, the inquiry they offer is rich and engaging, incorporating real-time data with local to global phenomena.  Much more than online maps, these tools allow students to investigate geographic patterns, linkages, and relationships.  Join Joseph Kerski as we explore natural hazards, language, economics, invasive species, population, and other topics using Web GIS tools including ArcGIS Online, ArcGIS Explorer Online, National Atlas, World mapper, Modern Language Association interactive map, and more.

No comments: